Boehm becomes first lineman to win Simone

John Beaudoin/The Lee's Summit Journal

By PrepsKC staff
Posted: December 28, 2011 - 4:34 PM

For the first time in the 29-year history of the Simone Awards, an offensive lineman has been named the top player in the Kansas City Metro.
Lee’s Summit West senior offensive tackle Evan Boehm won the 29th Simone Award Tuesday at Lee's Summit West High School. The Simone was one of five awards given out Tuesday morning. Boehm also won the Buck Buchanan Award for the second straight year. That award is given to the top large school lineman or linebacker in the Metro.
The Fontana Award given to the top small-school all-around player went to Platte County senior quarterback Krae Kelso. The Bobby Bell Award for the top small-school lineman or linebacker went to Harrisonville senior defensive end Travis Britz. The Otis Taylor Award for the top receiver in the Metro in any class went to Bishop Miege senior Tre Parmalee.
Boehm won the award in one of the closest votes in the history of the award. He edged out Blue Springs South senior quarterback/defensive back Connor Harris, Staley senior running back Morgan Steward and Bishop Miege junior quarterback Montel Cozart.