Back to all Features
Dunn dealPhoto Credit: Dion Cliss/PrepsKC

The 41st Simone Awards ceremony took place Thursday at Blue Valley Southwest where the Timberwolves quarterback became the 41st winner of the Thomas A. Simone Award as the best all-around player in the Kansas City Metro.

Dunn finished a historic season for Southwest as the leading passer in the Metro and the state of Kansas. The senior threw for 3,777 yards and 47 touchdowns while completing 73 percent of his passes. Southwest finished with its best record in school history at 10-2 losing to eventual champ Mill Valley 48-47 in the Kansas 5A semifinals.

Dunn beat out Lee’s Summit North quarterback Elijah Leonard, Liberty North defensive end/wide receiver Jay Ross and Grain Valley tailback Ty Williams.

Also announced at the ceremony was the Chiefs Eric Driskell Coach of the Year. Gardner-Edgerton’s Jesse Owen won the honor after leading the Trailblazers to their first Kansas 6A championship. The other finalists for the award were Rockhurst’s Kelly Donohoe, Raytown South’s William Harris and Blue Valley Southwest’s Anthony Orrick.

Ceremony mast of ceremonies Dave Stewart was honored with the lifetime achievement award and the late Cory Wohlford a coach from Smithville was given the Nathan Stiles Award for Courage after coaching for 35 years after becoming a quadriplegic during a car accident.

The winner of the other four major Simone Awards were recognized after their wins were announced last week. Alex Parks the Otis Taylor Award winner, Brayden Bush the Bobby Bell Award winner, Hudson Bailey the Fontana Award winner and Melvin Laster the Buck Buchanan Award winner all spoke at the event.

The members of the All-Simone team were also recognized.