Back to all Features
Leaders of young men

Below are the finalists for the Chiefs Coach of the Year for the 2022 season. The winner will be announced at the Simone Awards Ceremony Tuesday at the high school of the Simone winner.

Lorne Clark – Olathe Northwest, Olathe Northwest defeated Olathe South 35-21 to advance to the Kansas Class 6A quarterfinals for the first time in school history. The Ravens would go on to the 6A semifinals for the first time in school history where they lost to Gardner-Edgerton to finish at 8-4 which is a school record for wins.

Bryan DeLong – Center, Center remained undefeated after an impressive 53-27 win over an undefeated Pleasant Hill. The Yellowjackets win nailed down their first Missouri River Valley Conference West title since joining the league four years ago. The Yellowjackets would finish 11-1 losing to defending Class 4 champ Smithville in the quarterfinals.

Jesse Owen – Gardner-Edgerton, Gardner-Edgerton beat Olathe West 36-19 to move to 3-0 on the season. This is the best start for the Trailblazers since 2018. The run continues as Gardner-Edgerton to its first Class 6A title game. In that game the Trailblazers battled to the final second losing 22-21 in double overtime. Gardner-Edgerton finished 9-4 on the season.

Alan Wilmes – Blue Springs South, Blue Springs South defeated Park Hill 50-49 rallying from an 18-point deficit in the fourth quarter. The victory moved the Jaguars to 2-1 in Wilmes first season at South and is double the number of wins from 2020-21. South would finish with a 7-4 record losing to Liberty North in the district semifinals.