Back to all Features

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced the coaches of the week. Lee’s Summit West’s Vinny Careswell and Gardner-Edgerton’s Ryan Cornelson are this week’s winners

As a result of this honor, both schools will receive a $500 player health and safety grant from the Hunt Family Foundation. Additionally, both coaches will be presented congratulatory footballs autographed by Chiefs Head Coach Andy Reid and a certificate recognizing their selection.

Both coaches are now qualified for the Eric Driskell Coach of the Year Award, which will be voted on later this fall. The Eric Driskell Coach of the Year Award is selected by a panel comprised of the Missouri and Kansas Boards from the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association.

West moved to 4-1 on the season with a 34-27 win over previously undefeated and No. 1 ranked Raymore-Peculiar. Careswell said this is a team award for their hard work they have put in this season.

“Receiving the Chiefs Coach of the Week award is a great honor and testament to the Lee's Summit West coaching staff and players,” Careswell said. “Thank you to the Kansas City Chiefs organization for supporting high school football in the Kansas City area.”

Gardner-Edgerton defeated Kansas Class 5A No. 1 Mill Valley 28-19 to move to 2-0 on the season. The Trailblazers opened the season with a 31-24 win over Olathe South. Cornelson said it was an honor to be selected as the Coach of the Week by the Chiefs.

“It's a huge honor to be recognized by the Chiefs organization,” Cornelson said. “It’s really a testament to how hard our team and staff works each day.  I know this award recognizes the head coach, but this isn't done without our entire team's efforts.”

In its 24th season, the 2020 High School Coach of the Week is a joint initiative of the Kansas City Chiefs and the National Football League. This program is designed to recognize and reward Kansas City area high school coaches for superior performance on a weekly basis while honoring individuals who are shaping today’s youth and tomorrow’s leaders.