Back to all Features
Simone Finalists announced

Tonight on 41 Action News the finalists for the Simone Awards were announced. The winners will be announced Dec. 12 at the high school of the winner of the Simone Award.

Thomas A. Simone Award – Top all-around player

Arland Bruce IV, Jr., RB, Olathe North

Luke Grimm, Sr. WR/RB, Raymore-Peculiar

Jake Van Dyne, Sr. QB, Liberty North

Tyron “Tank” Young, Jr. RB, St. Thomas Aquinas

Frank Fontana Award – Top All Around player Small Class 1-4
Howard Brown, Jr. QB, Lincoln College Prep

Cooper Cunningham, Sr. RB, Tonganoxie

Bryce Krone, Sr. RB/LB, Bonner Springs

Josey Meierarend, Sr. QB, Odessa

Christopher Ruhnke, Jr. QB, Platte County


Buck Buchanan Award – Top Lineman/Linebacker Big Class school 5-6
Tucker Atwood, Sr. LB, Rockhurst

Hayden Gregg, Sr. LB, Staley

Ethan Kremer, Jr. DL/OL, Mill Valley

Johnny Wilson, Sr. DL, Park Hill


Bobby Bell Award – Top Lineman/Linebacker Small Class school 1-4
Jermaine Hamilton-Jordan, Jr. LB, Lincoln College Prep

Max Van Meter, Sr. DL, Bishop Miege

Garret Watson, Sr. LB, Platte County

Colby Wilson, Sr. DL, Odessa


Otis Taylor Award – Top Wide Receiver/Tight End all classes
Luke Grimm, Sr. WR/RB, Raymore-Peculiar

Daniel Jackson, Sr. WR, Bishop Miege

D’Vontae Key, Sr. WR, Raytown

Ty Lindenman, Sr. WR, Shawnee Mission Northwest


Kansas City Chiefs Eric Driskell Coach of the Year
David Allie, Grain Valley

Joel Applebee, Mill Valley

Bryan DeLong, Center

William Lowe, Lincoln College Prep