Honoring the best

By PrepsKC staff
Posted: February 20, 2019 - 4:03 PM

The Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association has announced the winners of its annual scholarship program.

Each year the GKDFCA in partnership with the McCarthy Auto Group select 22 players from Missouri and Kansas to receive $1,000 scholarships. The players are nominated by their coaches and are selected by a committee chosen by the GKCFCA.

The $22,000 is donated by the McCarthy Auto Group as part of the group’s longtime support of high school football in the Kansas City Metro. The winners will be honored at a banquet March 10.

Kansas Winners

Robert Stark, St. James

Cameron Burt, Blue Valley North

Dylan Downing, Bishop Miege

Brendon Ohlmeier, Paola

Tate Raboin, St. Thomas Aquinas

Jacob Dice, Olathe North

Josh Meurer, Bishop Miege

Zach Krause, Olathe West

Austin Shoffner, Leavenworth

William Roth, Mill Valley

Jace Friessen, Basehor Linwood

Missouri Winners

Quinten Arello, Staley

Nathan Barewin, Pembroke Hill

Alex Barker, St. Joseph Benton

Ethan Grasher, Grain Valley

Caleb Mendoza, North Kansas City

Alex Roush, Liberty

Garrett Schick, Pleasant Hill

Brody Willis, Excelsior Springs

Deonte Winston, Center

Adetomiwa Adebawore, North Kansas City

Von Young, Fort Osage

12th Man

Matt Ziesel, St. Joseph Benton