Chiefs honor BS South, Olathe East

By Dion Clisso PrepsKC Managing Editor
Posted: November 1, 2017 - 10:21 AM

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced this week’s Coach of the Week honors. The awards go to Blue Springs South coach Jon Oyler and Olathe East coach Jesse Owen

As a result of this honor, both schools will receive a $500 grant. Additionally, Owen and Oyler will be presented congratulatory footballs autographed by Chiefs Head Coach Andy Reid and a certificate recognizing their selection along with a Gatorade kit. Each coach is now a finalist for their state’s Eric Driskell Chiefs Coach of the Year Award.

The 2017 High School Coach of the Week fueled by Gatorade program is a joint initiative of the Kansas City Chiefs and the National Football League. This program is designed to recognize and reward Kansas City area high school coaches for superior performance on a weekly basis. The Chiefs Coach of the Week award fueled by Gatorade is intended to honor individuals who are shaping today’s youth and tomorrow’s leaders.

Blue Springs South defeated Columbia Rock Bridge 16-13 in overtime to claim a spot in the Class 6 District 3 championship game. It was the second straight week the Jaguars have beaten a higher seeded team. In the first round of the playoffs South defeated No. 4 seed Francis Howell followed by taking down top seed Rock Bridge with both wins coming on the road.

“We are honored as a program to win this award,” Oyler said. “It is a great testament to the effort our coaches and players have put in all year long.”

East beat Wyandotte 56-0 in the first round of Kansas Class 6A playoffs. The win moved the Hawks to 5-4 on the season which is a two-win improvement over last year and the first post-season victory since 2013.

“We are very honored and proud to receive the Chiefs Coach of the Week Award,” Owen said. “This award is a reflection of all the hard work put in by our coaching staff and our players. At Olathe East we have great support from our administration and the parents in our community. This award represents all of the people affiliated with our program; coaches, players, parents, & administration. We would like to thank the Kansas City Chiefs and PrepsKC.”