Chiefs announce Coaches of the Year

By Dion Clisso PrepsKC Managing Editor
Posted: December 15, 2016 - 9:27 AM

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced the recipients of the 2016 Missouri and Kansas High School Coach of the year awards. Blue Valley’s Eric Driskell (Kansas) and Grain Valley’s David Allie (Missouri) each received this honor after strong performances by their respective teams throughout the 2016 high school football season.

As a result of this accolade, Driskell and Allie will each be presented with their official trophies and a certificate recognizing their selection at a ceremony Sunday, Dec. 18, at Arrowhead Stadium before the Chiefs take on the Tennessee Titans. Additionally, both schools will receive a grant of $1,775 from the Hunt Family Foundation designated for player health and safety equipment and/or education.

Driskell led the Tigers to an undefeated regular season, an Eastern Kansas League championship and the No. 1 seed in the 6A west bracket. In the postseason they made it to their second straight Class 6A state title game falling to Derby 17-14. This is the fifth time Blue Valley has been to a state championship game since Driskell took over in 2010. The Tigers won Class 5A championships in 2010 and 2013.

“Getting an award like this is an entire program award,” Driskell said. “It is a direct reflection of the hard work, dedication, and performance of our players, coaches, and our community. On behalf of all of them; we are grateful for the honor and appreciate the recognition.”

Allie led the Eagles to their first-ever Missouri River Valley Conference East title and their first winning record since 2010. Along the way Grain Valley won at Missouri Class 4 Harrisonville and advanced to the district championship game for the first time.

“It is truly an honor to be recognized by such a great organization at the highest level of our sport,” Allie said. “It is humbling to be selected out of all the great coaches in the Kansas City area. I greatly appreciate the recognition of the effort, dedication and camaraderie exhibited by our players and staff this season.”

The 2016 High School Coach of the Year program is a joint initiative of the Kansas City Chiefs and the National Football League. It is designed to recognize and reward Kansas City area high school coaches who are shaping today’s youth and tomorrow’s leaders. This includes coaches that champion philosophies which advance and promote player health and safety.

Driskell and Allie were selected by a poll from all of their respective state’s 2016 Missouri and Kansas Coach of the Week winners. Throughout the fall, the Chiefs recognized a different coach on each side of the state line that set a benchmark among his profession. As a result, the winning coaches received a $500 grant and a certificate recognizing their selection, were presented with congratulatory footballs autographed by Chiefs Head Coach Andy Reid and became eligible for Coach of the Year for their state.